Suburban Spring…Summer in the City

West St., Annandale, NJ watercolor sketch

West St., Annandale, NJ watercolor sketch

Reeves Reed Arboretum, watercolor sketch

Reeves Reed Arboretum, watercolor sketch

Garden Urn, Cross Estate, watercolor sketch

Garden Urn, Cross Estate, watercolor sketch

A perfect way to spend a spring day is sketching in watercolor. All of these were done in my 5×8.5 inch Moleskine watercolor sketchbook. I did them with the paints in a Cotman watercolor field kit. The whole set up fits neatly into my backpack and I can work discreetly in parks, on the street or in my car if the weather is bad. The spring colors are especially vibrant this year, and including a building or other architectural form is a great way to create balance with the surrounding natural environment. Best of all, the work is neatly organized and protected in the sketchbook–no need to frame it, sell it or store it.

I’m focusing a lot on sketching these days. My teaching schedule is very hectic and I don’t have the time to work on large studio pieces at the moment. I actually prefer working smaller and on location anyway, so I am looking at this as an opportunity to explore watercolor as a medium and get some studies done of the city as the weather gets warmer and classes end. Stay tuned–I’ll be having a working in NYC in the middle of June, dates to come soon! 🙂

4 Responses to Suburban Spring…Summer in the City

  1. Leon Iwan says:

    Great sketches!

  2. bogart says:

    Anne do you remember what house that was? It looks exactly like mine. Ours is the one two houses up from washington and west st…

  3. Des couleurs si fraîches qui font sentir toute la saveur du printemps

Leave a Reply

