Still Life Around the House

Little Yellow Cans - alla prima oil, 12x12 in.

My pantry is a colorful place. I definitely have some brand loyalty going on, which makes for an interesting still life. I’ve taken a variety of Cento products (which are fantastic Italian foods!) and used them to create what I think is an interesting composition. The brightly colored packaging really lends itself to a contemporary still life study.

Many artists get hung up in the subject as a narrative, I don’t think of what I’m painting in a narrative sense, I prefer to look for visual patterns of shape and color and arrange them in a manner that creates balance and movement.

 

 

2 Responses to Still Life Around the House

  1. Robyn G says:

    Anne I enjoy your work very much!
    Thankyou for sharing your expertise with us all.

Leave a Reply

