Fashion Illustration Sketches

watercolor on paper

watercolor on paper

I teach a fashion illustration course for young artists (age 9-12). These are 2 little sketches I did for them as demos today.  I love the way fashion illustration can say so much with so little–a little black paint and water can go a long way in capturing form, gesture and movement. Working in this manner is very helpful to me when I am painting, this type of practice really forces me to break things down to their basic elements. Doing so creates a sense of spontaneity and reduces the subject to its barest essentials, which is always the primary goal for me when I am painting, regardless of subject or medium.

One Response to Fashion Illustration Sketches

  1. i like these. you said a couple things “..forces me to break things down to their basic elements” and “..can say so much with so little-a little black paint and water can go a long way in capturing form, gesture and movement”

    I totally agree with you. Sometimes i am much more captivated by monochromatic paintings that are simple “basic elements” then by super detailed full blown paintings using all colors and techniques.

    I have been this way for years. I think it’s similar to the scientist who strive to find the smallest possible building blocks of life, molecule then atom- then electron- then quark or whatever they do. then “aha” when we find the most basic representation of the “life” we are happy. ha ha. I don’t know if that makes sense but I wonder why I will sit a stare at a simple monochrome for a lot longer then other types. I also realy enjoy painting in this style but I like to do it in different ways. sometimes very fast, or sometimes very slow- and sometimes very deliberately and sometimes with ‘no thought’. Somehow the appeal of Asian calligraphy ties in to this as well. I don’t know, that’s just some feedback on what you said.

    I guess you are calling them ‘illustrations’ and you are obviously an expert teacher, but I would call them ‘paintings’ the way you did them. They are better than illustrations because they do have the magic in them that magnetizes the viewers mind to them, if even for a short time or many minutes depending on who the viewer is.

    Thanks for sharing. I just found your site today and like it a lot.

    Reid

Leave a Reply

