Winter on Parade – oil on canvas

Winter on Parade, oil on canvas, 11x14 in.

Coming down to the wire with just about one month until my first solo show of two back-to-back solo shows. The first show will be at Gallery Egan in Morristown this May. I am primarily featuring urban landscapes that include figures, crowds and urban life in motion.

This is my latest in the series, “Winter on Parade”. It is a bit different from my usual crowds en masse, in this piece I have actually pulled out a few key players and given them some individual details. I still imply details rather than painstakingly paint them, this provides a more spontaneous, expressive mood, which is key to me. I prefer to capture personalities with as few strokes as possible, making each one count towards developing the character I am painting.

The show will run from May 1 through May 31, with an opening reception on Friday, May 6 from 7-9 pm. Gallery Egan is located at 12 Community Place in Morristown, NJ. For more information, visit their web site at www.galleryegan.com.

Leave a Reply

