Second Prize!

 

Apples in an Old Wooden Bowl, oil on canvas, 12×12 in.

I got a nice surprise yesterday, I found out this painting won second prize in the Salmagundi Club’s “Square Foot, Round Feet” exhibition. All paintings had to be either 12×12 in. or a circular format with a diameter of 12 in. (I can’t imagine doing a circular painting but that’s just me.) Awards are always a nice surprise, we should never expect them, and definitely not put too much weight in what it means to win, but it’s always nice to get recognition from an organization like Salmagundi where the quality of the work in the exhibits is always high.

I love painting a still life, I always do them from life and typically paint them alla prima, finishing them in one session and working wet-into-wet. Most of the ones I paint are in the 11×14 or smaller size which allows me to work quickly. This is usually important as I don’t have much room to leave a still life standing for an extended period of time. I like to get a lot of movement in my compositions, therefore, my set ups are relatively complex with a lot of elements in them that contain repeating forms, colors and textures. Setting up a still life is composition in 3D, if you get the rhythm going in the set up, it’s going to be present in your painting and make it come to life.

This exhibit is currently on display at the Club until Feb. 11, along with the Black and White Show. The reception is on Feb. 4 from 6 to 8 pm, I hope to be there for the awards ceremony, stop in if you are in the neighborhood. For more information, visit www.salmagundi.org or call 212-255-7740.

2 Responses to Second Prize!

  1. Artswebshow says:

    True, true it’s always nice to win an award.
    They can help in giving an artist credibility too,
    I’m not surprised this painting won the contest
    I especially think the reflective shimmer on the apples is a nice touch

  2. Justin says:

    Hi. I used your image for one of my blog posts: http://youngerpicasso.blogspot.fr/2012/01/lean-back_26.html

    Hope you don’t mind. Please let me know if this is an issue.

    Thanks 🙂
    Justin

Leave a Reply

