Chinatown, Alla Prima Oil on Linen

Chinatown, alla prima oil on linen, 9×12 in.

Salmagundi Spring Auctions are coming up, and this spring, there will be LIVE online bidding, so you don’t have to be at the Club to bid on the pieces in the auctions. I want to put 3 pieces in as I usually do, so I have started gearing up since the first auction is in early March. The first piece I plan to submit is this little alla prima of Chinatown. I painted this today, I did a much larger, horizontal version of this a few years ago. It was purchased by a collector this summer. I’ve always wanted to revisit this idea in a vertical format, and so I thought this would be a good opportunity to do so.

I used a limited palette (burnt umber, ultramarine, alizarin, cadmium red, yellow ochre, cadmium yellow, naples yellow, king’s blue and titanium white). I like working this size, it allows me to get in enough information yet prevents too much detail, particularly on the figures in the foreground. This creates more of a mass of people, or crowd-like feeling, which in turn enhances the sense of motion and spontaneity in the painting.

Leave a Reply

