A bit more done on this one…

A few more details added, figures refined

For no reason in particular, I am really determined to keep this painting to the 5 colors I have on my palette – burnt umber, ultramarine, naphthol red, cadmium yellow and titanium white. I like the way these colors are picking up the “grit” of the city while capturing the glow of the evening light and contrast in the shadows. However, I find I am really missing my yellow ochre (no surprises there! I don’t think I’ve ever left yellow ochre off my palette before!), and a hint of cobalt or king’s blue would be nice. Of course, I can always choose to add these in at the end if I wish, but I want to just see what I get without them first. I hope to finish this before the holiday…

Leave a Reply

