Plein Air studies from France

Garden, Virieu, France - plein air, acrylic & pastel on paper, 9x7 in.

Guest House Garden Shed, Chelieu, France - plein air, acrylic & pastel on paper, 5x7in.

Most of what I painted in France stayed there and did not get photographed, but I do have these 2 little studies done on the few sunny days we had to paint outside. Both are acrylic and pastel on paper.  I don’t think I will do many more paintings of subjects from my trip. France is a beautiful country to see in person and to photograph, but I have a bit of a hard time with it as a painting subject as many things translate as trite when painted. I thought I could get past that by abstracting things, but I can’t–everything I’ve attempted to paint from the trip seems cliche to me. Although colorful, even the markets don’t have enough “grit” to them, they are too quaint. Again, I think they are lovely to look at when visiting, but I don’t want to create post card images in my paintings, so I think I will move on to something else.

Leave a Reply

