Today’s progress…

Stage 4 - figures developed, beginning to add in archictectural details

close up of figures

This is finally moving into it’s finishing stages. I still have to finish up the details on the architecture (that brick texture is a killer) and a bit more work on the figures and foreground sidewalk, etc.  I need to live with it for a day or so, and then finish it up in one final session. Overall, I’m happy with where it is going.

This is the first time I’ve painted such a large acrylic on Gessobord. The other large acrylics I did recently were on canvas. I like acrylic on Gessobord, but the smoothness seems to beg for more details, hence this is taking me a little longer than normal. Still using wide flat brushes though, no triple zeros! The paints I’ve used on this are Chroma Atelier Interactives (www.chromaonline.com) which dry very slowly and come with some great mediums that extend the drying time even further. Gessobord is an Ampersand product, great surface for both oil or acrylic.

Leave a Reply

