Barely There

14th Street, oil on canvas, 8x8 in.

This is a small urban landscape of NYC that I will have in the Catharine Lorillard Wolfe Art Club Invitational Exhibition. It has very soft edges and the imagery is almost ghostlike. This is a direction I plan to follow up on after I finish the paintings for my solo exhibit. I like the idea of the image barely being there, and the colors and atmosphere taking over. I’m also thinking about doing a series of these in a monochromatic or earth-toned color scheme, so that they look like vintage photos.

The Catharine Lorillard Wolfe Invitational Exhibition will feature the work of current and past Board of Directors and will be held during the month of March at the Grace Institute, NYC.

2 Responses to Barely There

  1. KW says:

    I enjoyed your lessons I have been looking for pastel basics course. Its not covered in most books I have. Simple and too the point.

  2. kullaf says:

    thank you, I teach pastel for beginners on Fridays at NJ Visual Art Center in Summit, spring classes begin the week of April 14, visit http://www.artcenternj.org for more info

Leave a Reply

