South Street

South Street, Morristown, oil on linen, 20x20 in.

This painting took me a long time to finish, which is rare for me. The reason is not because the work involved was painstaking or highly detailed, but because I needed to take a break from it and work on other things. For some reason, I lost interest in it, I have a short attention span to begin with which is one of the reasons I paint quickly.

However, I did not have dedicated blocks of time to work on this one when it reached its end stages. That is the part where I truly need to focus and I found I just could not concentrate on it. I knew what I had to do to complete it, but just could not bring myself to physically apply the paint to canvas. So I left it alone for awhile until I felt ready to put the finishing touches on it.

This approach worked well in this instance, I had a renewed interest in the piece and finished it up rather quickly as I usually do and it seemed as if there was no interruption in the flow of the piece. Again, this is not something I do very often. I hear about artists who never finish paintings and I don’t want to end up with a pile of them that I never got around to finishing, so I have no plans to make this a habit. But this one time, it worked. I also know that because I am preparing for a solo show, I have to work on multiple pieces at the same time, something else I usually do not do. So far, I have not run into trouble varying my approach, but it is not something I wish to keep up long term on a regular basis.

2 Responses to South Street

  1. although you mention that this is not usually your way of working, the approach seemed to work well…this is a vibrant exciting painting.

  2. kullaf says:

    thank you Sally! I was forced into a corner on this one, but managed to paint myself out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

