Recycled Surfaces – Experiment Completed

Acrylic and pastel on corrugated cardboard, about 20x25

detail of cans

detail of bottles

 I finished up this study of bottles and cans (really of color and form) and am quite happy with the way it turned out. It doesn’t bother me that the piece is on cardboard as opposed to a more archival material. I like the idea of works on paper that might not be around “forever”. Think about all the work artists produce that never sells, maybe never even gets exhibited and yet is done on expensive stretched canvas with stretcher bars and even frames. This contributes to amount of waste that ends up in landfills, if I can reduce my contribution, I’m happy to do so. I create a lot of studies and sketches like this, so I try to be as environmentally friendly as I can whenever possible.

Of course I know that I can’t expect anyone to pay what they might for an oil on canvas, but that doesn’t really matter to me.  I’ve acheived some effects on this surface that I know I can’t get on canvas, and while the materials might be non-archival, the piece really has a very vibrant presence in real life. I could put it behind glass if I really wanted to, but I’m going to try and find a way to preserve it, possibly with a pourable resin.

Another surface I’m experimenting with is corrugated plastic, the material many political and real estate signs are made of. I’ve begun surface preparation on a few panels and will see what happens when I paint with acrylics on top…stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

