Work-in-progress, more layering & alla prima

second layer, transparent color using turpenoid as a medium

second layer, transparent color using turpenoid as a medium

third layer, opaque color using linseed oil/turpenoid mix (Winsor-Newton Artist's Painting Medium)
third layer, opaque color using linseed oil/turpenoid mix (Winsor-Newton Artist’s Painting Medium)

Still a long way to go on this but it is starting to take shape and develop a strong color harmony and sense of movement. Palette used here is the one I usually use (cobalt blue, alizarin, cadmium barium yellow, yellow ochre, burnt umber, burnt sienna, titanium white), plus a little King’s Blue to make it fit with the other paintings I’ve done in the Cape Cod series. King’s Blue is actually what I thought it is–a cobalt lightened with white, Crementz White according to the site where I found its definition. So in theory, I could have just lightened my cobalt with titanium white and a tiny bit of yellow ochre to warm up the white to a Crementz White tone. But, since I have the King’s Blue paint and it is a friendly color, I’ll use it because it works well in this particular series.

3 Responses to Work-in-progress, more layering & alla prima

  1. Olique says:

    Oh, I like this! I always dreamed about painting city-streets-people view…

  2. Bigatti says:

    Great painting!!!! great mood captured!

Leave a Reply

