Another Study in Color Harmony

palette = yellow ochre, light red ochre, cobalt turquoise, burnt umber, Naples yellow

palette = yellow ochre, light red ochre, cobalt turquoise, burnt umber, Naples yellow

This is another experiment in color harmony. I think of this as an “Italian” palette because the colors seem Mediterranean to me, like something you’d see in Italy or southern France. I chose the wine bottles for this experiment because they seemed to suit the palette in terms of their actual color as well as a subject. I kept the reflections on the glass loose and implied rather than highly detailed, I love painting glass loosely, it seems to defy convention if it reads as glass but is not tight. I like this color combination a lot, I think I will use it on a painting of NY just to see what happens…

Note: These types of experiments in color harmony plus lots of compositional challenges are some of the subjects I will cover in Visual Interpretation, my new class at the NJ Visual Arts Center this fall. The class is on Tuesdays from 9:30 a.m. to noon, visit the Workshops & Classes page for more info.

Leave a Reply

