Beginning of a new urban landscape

work-in-progress, oil on canvas, 16x20
work-in-progress, oil on canvas, 16×20

Normally, I do not work on two paintings at the same time. I still have to finish the still life of the bottles, but I had to teach today and wanted to demo something really nice in class since this was the last session for my Monday oils class until fall. I decided to start this urban landscape in class for my demo.

This piece is a good example of how certain effects that you might not have planned for can occur in a painting, and how it is a good idea to go with them if you like the direction they are taking. In this case, I’ve already done a pastel color study, which I posted the other day, which was very heavy on the blues. I liked it, it worked well that way in pastel.
But somehow, this piece seems to have taken on a different type of atmosphere, mainly from the burnt sienna I used in the underpainting. I like it, it has a warm sepia-toned glow to it. So instead of leaning this one toward the blues as I did in the pastel, I’m going to go with emphasis on the warm tones with subtle blues that will enhance the glow rather than strong ones that will compete with it.
Neither the pastel study or the oil look anything like the original reference photo I took. I never feel compelled to keep colors close to the way they appear in reference photos–for me, a photo is purely a reminder to something I wanted to paint, never something to be copied.
4 Responses to Beginning of a new urban landscape

  1. Bigatti says:

    Looks great just like this. I would start a new one and leave this one the way it is! Awesome!!
    Alex

  2. kullaf says:

    thanks Alex, I don’t plan to do a whole lot on this but have to get some more paint on the building and sky, I too like the way it looks now, have to keep that weird lighting and motion going…I like unfinished paintings, wish I could exhibit some that way

  3. lesliepaints says:

    I like this one a ton better than the pastel with all the blue in it. The warmer color in this really enhances the “busy-ness” of the piece. I like the touches of greens in there.

  4. kullaf says:

    I’m not sure which I like better, I like aspects of each for different reasons…

Leave a Reply

