More on this work-in-progress

color mapping of glass bottles, 14x18 acrylic on canvas

color mapping of glass bottles, 14x18 acrylic on canvas

further development with more opaque layering

further development with more opaque layering

This has a long way to go, but I’m making steady progress. I’ve decided I’m going to paint it using only natural, late afternoon sunlight which streams in to my studio between 4 and 6 p.m.  This severely limits the amount of time I can spend on it–I’m relying on the weather and my teaching schedule to somehow cooperate with one another. I could have used a directional spot light but the natural light produces a beautiful glow that I can’t replicate with artificial lighting. Working with natural light also forces me to work quickly and to stay loose, I want this one to have a lot of spontaneity yet still read as glass but in a semi-abstract manner.

One Response to More on this work-in-progress

  1. Trieu says:

    Very nice painting of glass bottles. I especially liked the standing green one.

Leave a Reply

