New Start

underpainting for a more formalized study for the large glass still life, acrylic on canvas, 14x18"

underpainting for a more formalized study for the large glass still life, acrylic on canvas, 14x18"

I started a more formalized study of the glass for the large still life I am planning. I’m often asked why I consider these studies rather than paintings in and of themselves. When they get to this stage and have the level of development that I will put into this one, they can be considered paintings and I will probably exhibit and sell them at some point. In fact, I am thinking of turning this into a series. But to me, they are studies because the reason I am doing them is in preparation for creating a larger work. The large painting will be more than 2 times this size and will contain many more bottles and glasses. In this stage, I’m focusing on working out the color harmonies, composition, perspective and brushwork–I want it to be loose yet read as glass, that can be interpretted in many ways and I won’t know exactly how I will acheive the look I want until I’ve worked through this version. So perhaps the word “prototype” is more appropriate than study.

Leave a Reply

