Spring Class Schedule Posted

February 17, 2009
Taxi in the Rain, oil on canvas

Taxi in the Rain, oil on canvas

Just a quick reminder that my new classes for spring are now posted here. Registration is now open at Somerset Art Association, the New Jersey Visual Arts Center and the Hunterdon Museum of Art. If you have questions about any of my classes, please contact me or the school directly. Hope to see you in one of my spring classes.

Making a big mess

February 17, 2009
acrylic on watercolor paper, about 24x30"

acrylic on watercolor paper, about 24x30"

Revisited this urban landscape again in acrylic on a large sheet of watercolor paper. I’m trying to figure out if it is worthy of a large canvas or if it will be better done in the 11×14 size range. Am also considering using it for an upcoming demo I have in NYC, so I need to get really familiar with it and its potential problems. That’s why I paint the same thing so many times. A lot of times my students say they feel the first time they paint something it turns out the better than if they did it several times, but you won’t know that for sure unless you paint it again…

I refer to this as a mess not because I dislike it, but because I painted it without worrying about drips, blossoms, or having control over the end result. It has a very rough feeling to it that I could not replicate if I wanted to with oils or even with acrylics on canvas or gessoboard. Watercolor paper has a texture and absorbency that does that to my work. Not so much if I stay with a monochrome study, but as soon as I introduce color I don’t have the patience to plan things out the way a traditional watercolorist would, that’s why I get a mess. But I can live with that, because the end result does not matter with a study, it’s what I learn about my subject from the mess I make that counts.