Holiday spirit…

Bag of Bows - 11x14 oil on canvas, 2006

Bag of Bows - 11x14" oil on canvas, 2006

Just getting in the spirit of the season. I painted this a couple years ago just for fun. If memory serves me correctly, I did it in one sitting–from life. I just threw the bag on my studio table, put a light on it and got to work. I rarely paint holiday images, but did another one along these lines this year for our cards.

Holiday items (bows, foil, poinsettias) can be interesting visually. I generally take the same contemporary, semi-abstract approach as with my other work. Blocking in shapes and values first, then moving on into color. No limited palete on this one though, nor on the one I did this year…I’ll put that one up on Thursday.

2 Responses to Holiday spirit…

  1. Anita says:

    What fun, Anne! I should try thinking of abstract shapes – would be interesting to see what difference it makes.

  2. kullaf says:

    Anita, the difference I find is that it gives you a more detached view of the subject, you focus purely on visual elements and their relation to one another–it gives you license to paint what you might otherwise consider not worth painting

Leave a Reply

