Pastel Fundamentals – Class Notes from 10/22/08

9x12" on Art Spectrum paper, pastel study

pastel study, 9x12 on Art Spectrum paper

Concepts presented:
  • Begin with darkest values, block in forms
  • Think in terms of abstract shapes and values, work from dark to light
  • Don’t be a slave to the photo, use purely for reference
  • When sketching trees, use strong bold strokes rather than tentatively trying to replicate each trunk or branch

Miscellaneous: My web site issues are ongoing and I hope to work on resolving the problem after my morning classes end. I apologize for the inconvenience, once I have re-built my site the images in the other demos will once again be on the blog.

Leave a Reply

